2018 RT Birchbank Men’s Open Sponsored by The Trail Smoke Eaters A Great Success!


Rob Drezdof (Men’s Open Chair & Club President )
Dan Dupuis – Men’s Open Division Over all Low Net 
Gord Corder – Men’s Open Division Over all Low Gross 
Jeff Papilion (Director of Golf )- Men’s Senior Division Over  all Low Gross 
Dave Johnston – Men’s Senior Division Over all Low Net 
Derrick Simister – Men’s Open Committee / Director
Results Of Division Winners 
Results Men’s Open Division Score
OVERALL GROSS Gord Corder 210
OVERALL NET Dan dupuis 208
FLIGHT #1 Score
Low Gross Kevin Hogg 210
2nd Gross Dylon Maine 212
3rd Gross Garett Kucher 215
4th Gross Braden McKay 217
5th Gross Jeff Lagin 221
Low Net Ben Gresly-Jones 211
2nd Net Steve Simister 213
3rd Net Josh Colletti 215
4th Net Don Howard 216
5th Net Scott Kramer 217
FLIGHT #2 Score
Low Gross Mike Jensen 238
2nd Gross Rob Drezdoff 242
3rd Gross Shane Cathina (retro) 243
4th Gross Jim Van-Horn (Retro) 243
5th Gross Tom Maine (Retro) 248
Low Net Spence Lefriec (Retro) 214
2nd Net Jeremy Weed (Retro) 214
3rd Net Brian Clark 215
4th Net James Carr 219
5th Net Caleb Clutter 221
Results Men’s Senior Division Score
OVERALL GROSS Jeff Papilion 221
OVERALL NET Dave Johnston 207
FLIGHT #1 Score
Low Gross Chad Cherry 223
2nd Gross Brad Harding 224
3rd Gross Bruce McKay 232
4th Gross Pat Vlanich 236
5th Gross Keith Muffort 242
Low Net Doug Koffinke 207
2nd Net Bob Sola 208
3rd Net Rob McKay 212
4th Net Wayne DeWitt 213
5th Net Mark Brown 217
FLIGHT #2 Score
Low Gross John Shubert 250
2nd Gross Jerry Boyd 257
3rd Gross Nicholas Gray 258
4th Gross Brian Muskeyn 259
5th Gross Ken Fines 263
Low Net Gregg Huston 209
2nd Net Jeff Norton 213
3rd Net Steve Robinson (Retro) 215
4th Net Colin Rintoul (Retro) 215
5th Net Blair Lawry 217

Ladies Club Championship Results

The 2018 Birchbank Ladies Club Championship was held on July 21st and 22nd. Twenty-two ladies participated in the Blaylock Bowl, teeing off from the red tees on Saturday and the white tees on Sunday. Terry Van Horn came in with a two-day total 174 to win the Blaylock Bowl for overall low gross, beating her closest competitor, Sophia Park by 10 strokes. Dana Haas was awarded the Elsie Buchanan plaque for overall low net 144. Dana was also presented with the Frances Lauriente Rose Bowl for the least putts (61) over the two days after beating Mary Lynn Trozzo in a four-hole putt off. Flight winners were: #1 – Maureen Elliott, low gross 186; Jeri Santarossa, low net 146; #2 – Barb Secco, low gross 207; Mary Lynn Trozzo, low net 146. Pictured left to right are: Dana Haas, Terry Van Horn and Sophia Park.Blaylock winners.jpg

Superintendent’s Blog – The Driving Range

A driving range tee box that is in great condition is what we expect when we want to work on our game. There are two ways to get a perfect, grassy tee box with no bare spots  — always use the ‘mats’ (nobody wants that!) OR minimize divot damage so the grass can grow back quickly. Take a moment to watch this short video from our Course Superintendent, Mark Lloyd.

Birchbank Ladies Sweepstakes

Tuesday, July 10th, Birchbank Ladies Club hosted forty-six ladies from
Balfour, Castlegar, Champion Lakes, Nelson, Redstone and Birchbank golf
clubs.  The day started with a continental breakfast, followed by a shotgun
start at 9:30 under cloudy skies.  Despite having to fight rain on 2 or 3
holes, the golfers enjoyed a good day on the course, which was in excellent
condition.  Jackie Little, from Balfour, shot a fantastic two over par 74 to
claim the overall low gross trophy, while Jenn Poole from Castlegar won
runner-up low gross with 85.  Teresa Zimmaro (Birchbank) came in with a net
66 to win the overall low net trophy and Bev Poole from Castlegar was
runner-up low net.  Flight winners were: #1 – low gross – Roma Crispin
(Balfour) 87, low net – Maureen Elliott (Birchbank) 71; flight #2 – low
gross – Pat Lawrence (Christina Lake) 94, low net – Michelle Hansen
(Birchbank) 71; flight #3 – low gross – Verna Chernoff (Castlegar) 101, low
net – Valerie Horcoff (Christina Lake) 71; flight #4 – low gross – Beth
Robinson (Birchbank) 104, low net – Eileen Holm (Birchbank) 73.  Prizes were
also awarded to second and third low gross and low net winners in each of
the 4 flights, as well as long drive, long putt and KPs.  After golf the
ladies enjoyed socializing and a great dinner at the Birchbank Bistro.

Pictured are:  photo 1 – Jackie Little and Teresa Zimmaro, overall low gross
and low net winners
photo 2 – Maureen Elliott and Roma Crispin, flight 1 low net
and low gross winners


Retirees Roll The Dice

Forty-four members of the Retirees Club teed off in their annual Dice Scramble — a scramble with at twist. All members of the team tee off but the drive used is determined by a roll of the dice and everyone fears the dreaded ‘Frowning Face’ which mean the worst drive must be used.

The weather was fantastic and the breakfast brunch was promptly served to the hungry players as they completed their round.

Birchank Dice Scramble

Winning team with the ‘Claret Jug’ L to R ; Al Piccolo, Len Willick, Larry Handley, Al Larocque


1st – Len Willick, Al Piccolo, Larry Handley, Al Larocque (score 67)
2nd – Bruce Hadley, Lorne Fillmore, Wayne Weaver, Steve Handley (score 69)
3rd – Merv Olson, Doug Glover, Don Szilagyi (score 70)

Closest to the pin winners: Norman Moll, Dave Ross, Merv Aiken, Pat Paterson
Longest putt winners: Merv Aiken, Wayne Weaver


Lifetime Membership for Colbert

The Board of Directors would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge Dr. Jack Colbert for decades of support as a Founding member and as a Board Member.

For Jack’s many years of tireless efforts, most recently on the Finance Committee, The Board of Directors has voted to make Dr. Jack Colbert a Lifetime Member of Rossland – Trail Country Club


Colbert, Jack with Don Odell & Lars Christensen - Hole In One Trickle Creek Hole #8- June 6, 2015

Photo of Jack after scoring his first hole-in-one at age 93 on a golf trip to Trickle Creek GC

Congratulation’s Jack!  Thank you, from the Board and all our members,  for all you have done for the Rossland-Trail Country Club/Birchbank Golf.


Ollie Results

2018 ollies tournament.JPG

Thirty-four members of the Birchbank Ladies Golf Club teed off on Saturday
June 9th for the fourth annual Ollie’s Tournament. This event is sponsored
by the family of the late Ollie Schultz who was an avid golfer and long-time
member of the Rossland Trail Country Club. The two-person best ball format
saw the team of Judy Healey and Gerianne Hanik claim the Ollie Schultz
plaque with a net 61, one stroke better than second place team of Eileen
Holm and Judy Healey, who was the dark horse on this team.  Other winning
teams were Carol Babcock and Doreen Campbell, third with 63; Kathy King and
Sharon Noakes, fourth with 64 and Roberta DeLuca and Ilo Shubert, fifth with
65.   Pictured left to right are Sharon Noakes, Ollie’s daughter; the
winning team of Gerianne Hanik and Judy Healey and Jane Phillips, Ollie’s