Deadline Approaching Fasr

Early Bird Membership Deadline Approaching Fast

Purchase your 2017 Membership before the October 31 deadline to receive Early Bird Pricing. NEW MEMBER pricing of $999 includes free play for the remainder of this season.

Take advantage of our Pre-Authorized Debit (PAD) payment plan to make monthly payments for your 2017 Membership

GT Car Wash Tournament

A grey morning greeted a sold out field of 128 players as they got set to tee off in this year’s GT Car Wash – Birchbank Golf Membership Giveaway Tournament. A few drops of rain couldn’t dampen the teams as they were all here for the fun and friendship plus the chance to have their name drawn for a free 2017 Birchbank Golf membership.

The last name pulled and winner of the 2017 Birchbank Golf membership was Kyle Mace.

Thanks to everyone on our Bistro, Pro Shop and Grounds staffs for making the event possible, to Dennis & Margo for overseeing everything and to GT Car Wash for once again sponsoring this very popular event.

Ladies Club Windup Tournament

The Birchbank Ladies’ Club held their closing on Sunday, September 25th.  Forty-eight ladies enjoyed a fun game of golf (Flag Frenzy) followed by a delicious turkey dinner. 

The winning team was the 3-some of Joan Allegretto, Michele Hansen and Denise Gausdal with a score of 85.  Year-end prizes were presented as follows:  BC Pin Round – Carmela Livolsi net 59; RCGA Pin Rounds – Carmela Livolsi with a 4-game net aggregate score of 276.   Susan Kim was the winner of the Crystal Cup (A side) and runner-up was Eileen Holm; B side – Dana Haas, runner-up Elaine Martin.  Monthly Competition – Carmela Livolsi with a 5-game net average of 66.4; Ringer Board Overall winner – Susan Kim (by retro) with a net 64; flight winners were:  #1 Michele Shankland – 64 (retro), #2 Michelle Hansen – 66, #3 Gerianne Hanik – 69, #4 Gail Rebelato – 76 (retro), #5 Sue Hermanson – 78. 

Anita Cameron won the Most Improved Eclectic score award with an improvement of 46 strokes over her first ringer board score.  The plaque for the Most Improved Handicap Factor was presented to Gail Rebelato. Pictured below (left to right) are:  Anita Cameron and Gail Rebelato


Upcoming Events

Bistro News

October 2nd the Bistro will be on limited menu and limited hours.for the rest of the season.(Sandwiches and hot dogs)

If you have Pro Shop or Bistro credits please coming and use them up before the season ends. Beverage cart last day will be October 1st.

 NOTE:The Bistro will be closed for a private function on October 8 .

October Hours and Weather Delays

The Pro Shop will start Fall Season Hours October 1st — open at 8:30 AM and the first tee time at 9:00 AM.  Remember frost, fog, or other weather conditions may delay starting times. Please phone ahead to check for updates OR @BirchbankGolf on Twitter OR follow Birchbank Golf on Facebook OR check



Retirees Club Championship

Seventy-five members of the Retirees Club enjoyed a day of golf, friendship, and a great meal when they met to compete in their Closing and Club Championship. Some great scores were recorded in all the flights as players enjoyed perfect playing conditions and beautiful weather.

Jack Beard shot a 73 to take the overall low gross title and Al Pasin shot a net score of 63 to win the overall low net title.


(L-R) 2016 Winners Al Pasin and Jack Beard

Boyd-Haddad and More

Boyd-Haddad Tournament

Birchbank Golf hosted this year’s edition of the inter-club Boyd-Haddad Championship. Congratulations to the Birchbank Team for winning the Haddad portion of the tournament:haddad2016

Kirby Epp, Reg Cherenko (made a hole in one on  number 13), Dave Shankland, Bill King, John Kim, Chris Vlanich, John Schubert, LeRoy Huestis  

Tournaments Coming Up

Business Ladies Closing Sept 13

Retirees Club Championship Sept 15 (10AM shotgun)

The Trail Smoke Eaters Tournament on Sept 17 (9AM shotgun). There is only room for a couple more teams — contact the Pro Shop.

Men’s and Ladies Closing Scramble Sept 24-25. 

GT Carwash Membership Give Away Tournament Oct 1 at 11:00 shot gun with dinner to follow .

Credits and Balances Due

Just a reminder that we starting Tee times October 1 at 9AM with the Pro Shop answering the phone at 8:30 AM

As the season winds down, we would ask all members to use up those Pro Shop credits, Bistro Credits, and for any one with accounts with an outstanding balances, remember to pay them off ASAP. Remember members can look that information up online — please refer to previous emails sent by our accounting department detailing how to do this.

2017 Early Bird Memberships Available

It’s membership renewal time once again and our 2017 Early Bird Membership Rates are now in effect. Purchase your 2017 membership before Oct 31 and save $$$$.

CLICK HERE to view our Early Bird Rates for 2017.

Don’t forget you can sign up for our Pre-Authorized Debit {PAD} payment plan to spread your payments out over the off season. Full details available in the Pro Shop.


September Update

A. The 2016 Golf Season is  winding down, but we still have some great events to look forward to including:

  • The Trail Smoke Eaters Tournament is on Sept 17 and we still have a few spots open, so drop by the Pro Shop to enter.
  • The Men’s Club Closing & 3-Man Scramble is on Sept 24. To register drop by the Pro Shop.
  • The Ladies Closing Tournament is Sept 25 — sign up sheet is in the ladies locker room.
  • The Retirees Club Championship & Closing Tournament is Sept 15. The deadline to sign up is FRIDAY, SEPT 9 (no late entries accepted).
  • The Annual GT Carwash Membership Give Away Tournament is Oct 1. For your chance to win your 2017 Birchbank membership or other prizes, register in the Pro Shop.  Please be aware that last year we were SOLD OUT don’t delay.

B. Please use up your BISTRO CREDITS before the end of the season. We will be downsizing the menu as the season winds down.IMG_1066

Ladies Eclectic Tournament

The Birchbank Ladies’ Club held their annual Eclectic Tournament on Sept. 27 & 28 in memory of Kay Buna, a former long-time member of the Ladies’ Club.  Kay’s daughters Lesley & Donna joined 37 members of the Ladies’ Club for this fun tournament in which each golfer has a chance to better her score on each hole on the second day of the event.  Each golfer’s net eclectic score is her best gross score on each hole over the two days less her handicap.  Sharon Noakes proved to be the hottest golfer coming in with the overall low net of 58, just one stroke better than Eileen Holm who won runner-up overall low net (59) by retrogression.  Kay’s four sons along with other family members joined the ladies for dinner afterwards.  Flight winners were:  Flight 1 – Maureen Elliott (62); Flight 2 – Sook Kim (59); Flight 3 – Carmela Livolsi (60); Flight 4 – Anita Cameron (61). 

Pictured left to right:  back row – Patti Buna, Lorne Buna, Gord Buna; front row – Lesley Buna, Sharon Noakes, Donna Buna and Eileen Holm.IMG_1430

Birchbank Golf & The Kootenay Golf Trail


Birchbank Golf is one of seven member clubs that make up the Kootenay Golf & Adventure Trail which strives to promote Golf and Adventure Tourism in the Kootenays. If you or your friends are looking for a great golfing experience as part of a vacation adventure we encourage you to take a look at the newly launched Kootenay Golf Trail website.

Check out the great new Birchbank video produced as part of the Lower Columbia Tourism Initiative by  Tourism Rossland.